Skip to main content

Rock IslandHigh School

Main Menu Toggle

15 State Scholars for Rock Island High School

Rock Island High School is proud to have 15 students named as Illinois State Scholars by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission! The Board of Education recognized the students at the January 14 Regular Meeting.


Bianca Brown

Logan Conner

Nils Empen

Jaime Hill

Ashley Johnson

Spencer Mar

Ellie Maranda

Ryan Nickel

Olivia Panegos

Josie Pennington

Larissa Pothoven

Natalia Rosales

Katherine Shewell

Zoe Veasey

Gwendalyn Waggoner

The State Scholars are honored annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission for exceptional academic achievement. The students represent approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors from 737 high schools across the state of Illinois. Honorees are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test scores and sixth-semester class rank.  

Illinois State Scholars

Rock Island High School Illinois State Scholars!

Pictured L to R: Board President Gary Rowe, Logan Conner, Bianca Brown, Ryan Nickel, Ashley Johnson, Nils Empen, Larissa Pothoven Spencer Mar, Zoe Veasey, Principal Jeff Whitaker, Superintendent Dr. Reginald Lawrence II. Front row L to R: Josie Penington, Ellie Maranda, Olivia Panegos.