Skip to main content

Rock IslandHigh School

Main Menu Toggle

Rocky Seniors Recognized for Academic Success

Congratulations to the 38 Rock Island High School seniors who were recognized as Charles O. Austin, Jr. Scholars at the Board of Education meeting on Tuesday, August 14. The designation is for senior students who have completed six semesters of study at Rock Island High School and have earned 3.5 grade point Honor Roll recognition for each and every one of their first six semesters at Rock Island High School were presented with a Certificate of Recognition. 
Students presented with the designation: Charles Allison, Caroline Cady, Carlee Camlin, Kayla Canning, Corina Castaneda, Melissa Castaneda, McKenna Chastain, Tierra Colvin, Cobie Conger, Mikayla DePover, Dayton Ellis, Aislinn Geedy, Eduardo Gutierrez, Morgan Harty, Amy Haskill, Spencer Hasselroth, Htoo Htoo, Lah Htoo, Za Iang, Anastasia Jacobs, Emily Jansen, Wang Kalomba, Shannon Kenney, Hannah Knuth, Emily Laughlin, Margaret Lelonek, Joseph Matheis, Tyler Meirhaeghe, Kaiah Miles, Sha Myint, Leslie Perez, Adelyne Phares, Paige Porter, Niyimbona Salvator, Tayler Seibel, Ta Shee, Emily Skelton and Jacklyn Weckerly.
In 1998, the designation was established by the Board of Education in honor of Charles O. Austin, Jr., who served District 41 for 14 years as Rock Island High School Principal and for 7 years as Superintendent of Schools. Charles O. Austin, Jr., gave 21 years of dedicated leadership to the students and citizens of Rock Island and Milan, Illinois. He demanded excellence, was a roll model for achievement, and directly impacted the lives of thousands of our communities’ youth. 
"The Charles O. Austin Jr. Scholar designation is one of the highlights at the beginning of our school year," said Superintendent Dr. Mike Oberhaus. "We are extremely proud of our high school senior students and their academic achievement at Rock Island High School." 
Austin scholars Madeline Lelonek